Aasif Mandvi Explains How 'The Daily Show' Made Him a "Terrorist of Comedy"
by Megh Wright "The longer I spent time on The Daily Show, standing in front of a green screen pretending to report from war zones and hot spots around the world—most often from somewhere in the Middle East—the more I began to realize that The Daily Show was radicalizing me. I was being ... [Read More]
 
Bob Odenkirk reads from his new book ‘A Load of Hooey’ on ‘Conan’
To promote his new book A Load of Hooey, Bob Odenkirk has been embarking on a book tour starting last week. Last night, he made a stop at the Conan set to read an exert for the audience in the style of a politician’s press conference. Odenkirk still has six more dates left on his […] Bo... [Read More]
 
Amy Poehler's 'Yes Please' Is the Best Non-Self-Help Self-Help Book Ever
by Erica Lies Before I can start my thoughts on Amy Poehler’s Yes Please (Dey Street Press, out today), I have to put aside Professional Writer Voice and make a confession: I love self-help books. I’m not talking about the ones that promise if you just think positively piles of money wil... [Read More]
 
Watch LeVar Burton Do a Live Reading of 'Go the Fuck to Sleep'
by Megh Wright Every '90s kid's favorite book enthusiast LeVar Burton recently participated in a charity telethon, where he made the very charitable donation of a live reading of Adam Mansbach's Go the Fuck to Sleep to a group of grown up Reading Rainbow fans. If you're struggling with insomnia thes... [Read More]
 
Addicted to Comedy: How to Create a Comedy Festival
What I discovered from that interview is the grey space that exists between comedians who performing at open mics shows and the lack of locations for those who want to build their craft on the journey to paid performances. Last year I interviewed Jessica Hardy about how she created the Chicago Comed... [Read More]
 
Bob Odenkirk Announces 'A Load of Hooey' Tour Dates
by Megh Wright To promote his brand new book A Load of Hooey, Bob Odenkirk is going on a nationwide tour that will be split between readings/book signings and live comedy shows featuring opening act Brandon Wardell. Stops in Seattle, Chicago, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, Milwaukee, and New York wi... [Read More]
 
Megan Amram Is Going on a 'Science…For Her!' Book Tour
by Megh Wright Megan Amram's new book Science…For Her! comes out on November 4th, and she's celebrating the launch with a book tour in the US and Canada. The tour will make stops in Los Angeles, Toronto, Brooklyn, Portland, and more with some special guest appearances from John Hodgman, Megan... [Read More]
 
Megan Amram announces “Science… For Her” book tour
In case you haven’t hears, writer, Parks and Recreations scribe, Twitter genius Megan Amram wrote a book. The satirical Science… For Her!, blends science and Cosmo magazine together for a textbook the ladies can finally get behind. Subjects include: this Spring’s ten most glamorou... [Read More]
 
Jim Gaffigan Explores His True Passion in 'Food: A Love Story'
by Elise Czajkowski Jim Gaffigan kicks off his new book, Food: A Love Story, by explaining his pedigree for writing about food. It's fair to say that anyone who's seen his standup will need no convincing that he's the man for the job. In fact, his food-love is so well known that he casuall... [Read More]
 
Marcel the Shell Experiences His Very First Thunderstorm
by Megh Wright It's a big week for fans of Jenny Slate and Dean Fleischer-Camp's tiny creation Marcel the Shell. Not only is there a new book called Marcel the Shell: The Most Surprised I've Ever Been out tomorrow, but today they released a brand new video featuring Marcel as he talks about deodoran... [Read More]